Press Release
Z107.7 Radio (KCDZ)
For immediate release
March 23, 2010
Contact: Gary Daigneault: 760-366-8471


In a remarkable career high point, a small market broadcaster from a Twentynine Palms, California, area radio station has been selected for induction into the Associated Press Television Radio-Television Association (APTRA) Hall of Fame, Class of 2010.

Gary Daigneault, 58, News Director for Z107.7 fm (KCDZ) will be inducted at the Associated Press Organizations annual convention and Mark Twain Awards ceremony June 12, 2010, at Disneyland’s Paradise Pier Hotel.

APTRA is a 12 state Organization that serves as a liaison between the Associated Press and their member stations and has thousands of members who are dedicated to quality broadcast journalism.

Daigneault was notified of his Hall of Fame selection March 22, 2010 in a letter from APTRA President Ross Becker who said the organization, “looks forward to celebrating your career”.

In story released nationally by the Associated Press March 23, the internationally respected news agency said, “Gary Daigneault has been News director, as well as co-owner of KCDZ-FM Twentynine Palms for two decades. He’s been honored by APTRA and other organizations numerous times for his reporting. He’s a two-time APTRA President, as well as long-time board member.”

In 2009, Daigneault was awarded the prestigious “Golden Mike” from the Radio Television News Association (RTNA) for “Best News Writer” for small market radio. In 2008 he was awarded the “Mark Twain Award” from the Associated Press for “Best News Writing” for small market radio.

In his 33 year career, he has won a wide variety of broadcast journalism accolades, including “Best Editorial”, “Best Newscast” numerous times, some 35 awards for breaking national news stories, and the “Station of the Year” for KCDZ-FM in 2002 after a trip to Somalia with the United States Marines and in-depth coverage and organization of rescue and feeding efforts in the wake of a 7.3 earthquake in his home market.

Joining Daigneault on the dais for the Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be; Mark Howell, retired from KUZZ-FM Bakersfield, George Knapp, news anchor at KLAS-TV Las Vegas, Nationally syndicated commentator Rush Limbaugh, Paul Moyer of KABC and KNBC television in Los Angeles, Tad Dunbar of KRNV in Reno, Nevada, John Coleman, Weather reporter for “Good Morning America”, Dave Niehaus, the voice of the Seattle Mariners, Dave Walker and Lois Hart, co-anchors for CNN and CNBC, and Kent Dana, recently retired after 40 years at KPHO-TV of Phoenix, Arizona.

Daigneault was literally stunned by the high honor, saying, “Never in my life did I ever imagine that I would be selected for this most prestigious honor, I am truly humbled by my selection into the APTRA Hall of Fame.” KCDZ-FM broadcasts from studios in Joshua Tree, California. Past honorees have included the likes of Vin Scully, John Madden, and Stan Chambers.

Daigneault and his wife Cindy have owned and operated Z107.7-FM (KCDZ) since putting the station on the air in July of 1989. They have two Children, Ariella Roberts, 28, a worldwide marketing Manager for Warner Brothers, and Cody Daigneault, 24, who is the stations Music and Production Manager, and two grandchildren. They have lived in Twentynine Palms for 31 years.


Photo Caption:

Twentynine Palms broadcaster, Gary Daigneault, News and Program Director for Z107.7 FM (KCDZ) radio, has been selected for the 2010 class of the Associated Press Televison-Radio Association Hall of Fame. (KCDZ Photo)